Justice and Peace Ministry

Justice & Peace CommitteeJ&P logo“The Justice and Peace Committee  advocates for issues in our community and world that preserve justice and peace in a Justice & Peace CommitteeChrist-like way.”

FCC’s Justice & Peace ministry helps to promote justice & peace events and education at FCC.   They hope to make a difference in our community, state, nation and/or world; and coordinate discussion on important local or world justice issues.


Micah 6In 2001, the members of First Congregational Church voted at the 2001 Annual Meeting to proclaim the church a “Micah 6 Congregation” as recommended by the Justice and Peace Ministry.  This designation, established by the National Council of Churches of Christ, USA, would formalize FCC’s commitment to issues of social justice.


The 2016 Annual Micah 6 Awards/Dinner Banquet is scheduled for Sunday, October 23 at 5 pm, in the Founders’ Room at FCC. Tickets are on sale at First Congregational Church on Sunday, October 16 (9:30 am-11:00 am).

The First Micah 6 Awards Banquet was held in the spring of 2002 by the Justice & Peace Ministry of FCUCC to recognize individuals and organizations nominated by members of First Congregational Church because they embodied the spirit of Micah 6: 8 to “do justice, love kindness, and walk humbly with your God.”  The Micah 6 Awards have been given annually since then.


2002: Bob Murray, Nance McCullough, Chris Ordzie & Alan Severn

2003: Leanne Hadley, Lyn Boudreau, Linda McIntire, Cathy White & Jenny Finn

2004: Rev. Benjamin Reynolds, Sara Thomas & Richard Skorman

2005: Patti & Jim White, Steve Handen, Genie & Bill Durland, Karen Teja & Marge Layton

2006: Meredith Bell, Rosemary Harris & Nancy Henjum

2007: George & Jane Sheffer, Lynn Young and Dennis Apuan

2008: Linda LeMieux, Guy McPherson & Marilyn Robbins

2009: Paul Carpenter, Mary Jane Ray, Ann Skinner & Bill Taylor

2010: Rev. Ted Nace, Dr. Al Munson, Rev. Clare Twomey, Jon Vigne & Del Hokanson

2011: Mike McAdams, Burl Kreps, John McIlwee, Cyndy Kulp, & Sylvia Weshe

2012: Stephen Brown, Eydie Elkins, Christine Hall, Jan Martin & Max Hale

2013: Kate Henjum, Larry Stebbins, Phyllis McCoy & Pete Lee

2014 – Banquet was not held

2015: Allen Beauchamp, Janet Carpenter, Nancy Lippincott, Nancy Saiz

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *